How to feed SPS and LPS corals! The Basics!

Because many of you asked via Email, we combined the three articles about the feeding of LPS and SPS corals into one guide! We’d love to get your experiences about coral feeding in our comments. Happy reefing!

Basics about coral feeding

Most of the SPS and LPS corals except some azoo-corals primarily live by sunlight. Corals that are mostly living in shallow do this by implementing unicellular symbiotic algae into their structure. By doing photosynthesis, the resulting sugar is then used as an energy source by the coral.

In their natural environment, corals are mostly established in very low-nurtrient water – but, like most algae, the symbiotic algeas need somewhat higher nitrate and phosphate levels to survive. So over the millions of years, the corals developed another source for energy – the coral polyps that can actively catch plankton, which is mostly micro- and zooplankton.

img_1683

And: They have to! Growing in even in deeper regions with less light and a very low nutrient level, the corals are not able to keep the zooxanthellae concentration reasonably high and thereby generate enough energy. In addition, corals need phospho-lipids, carotenoids, vitamins and many other organic compounds which they can only get by catching plankton. Zooxanthellaes cannot produce these substances for the coral.

ultra_makro_polyp

Therefore, corals are mixotrophic organisms – they can use, depending on the offered source, autotrophic and heterotrophic food.

And what about our reef tanks?

Many saltwater aquarists know, that SPS corals show the best colors at now nutrient values and strong lightening. This has to do with the fact that at low nutrient values, strong lightening and a good flow the zooxanthellae concentration is not that high. Zooxanthellae normally have a brown color and are fertilized by NO3 & PO4. A high density of zooxanthellae leads to brown looking corals. With a low density of zoocanthellae the coral is not covered by the brown algae so that the colorful skeleton becomes visible.

By keeping the phosphate and nitrate levels low, SPS corals show the best bold colors. But, just in the use of strong adsorbents, the coral lacks the necessary energy source from the photosynthetic products of the zooxanthellae. The saltwater aquarist is adjusting the nutrient levels to those of the natural sea.
But: The microfauna and zooplankton for alternative food is mostly missing in modern low-nutrient-tanks. And therefore an active feeding is necessary. So, a modern mixed-LPS/SPS reef tank needs the following:

– Strong lightening
– Strong and changing flow
– Low nutrient levels
– Provide of coral food

Zooplankton and phytoplankton

Living phytoplankton and zooplankton is the natural food of SPS. Note that there are only a few corals (eg Goniopora) that eat phytoplankton actively. Phytoplankton represents, however, a very important source of food for zooplankton.
Regular addition of phytoplankton/zooplankton food promotes a boost of natural zooplankton of all sizes, which can have a very positive effect on the nutrition of the stony corals.

img_1684

Here’s a video from my tank, showing many tropical mysis but also many more mikro- and makroplankton on and in the rocks (best to watch in HD directly on youtube):

Bacterioplankton and ‘pseudoplankton’:

Strengthening the bacterial flora can be supportive. Often, carbon compounds or the vodka method is used to increase the bacterioplankton. On the one hand it reduces the nutritional value slightly, on the other hand, the releasing bacteria carpets ar getting actively absorbed by the stony corals.
This effect can also be observed in the use of zeolite. If the zeolite is moved several times a week, the adherent bacterial plaque gets into the tank.
Also oyster eggs are ideal, because of their size and structure, and well received by stony corals.

So how do I feed my corals right?


Fact: There are more important things than coral feeding. Flow, light and low nutrient are the base of beautiful colored SPS corals.
If you’re so far, that the colors and growth is good, you can start the targeted feeding. Tanks, that are on NO3=0 and PO4 = 0, basically should feed the corals because of the low supply of nutrition the coral zooxanthellae can deliver to the coral.

LPS in turn, needs to be fed in an entirely other way. Especially the popular and ultra-colored LPS corals as Acanthastrea, Scolymia australis, Lobophyllia, Euphyllia, Blastomussa and many are able to take much larger food particles – so-called macro-plankton. It starts with the small clam eggs up to the size of Artemia, Goldpods (2mm) or even Mysis. This means that, especially for a mixed tank of SPS and LPS it is crucial to have a good mix!

Long polyp SPS

There is an awful amount of different food for corals on the market, and it’s not easy for less experienced reefers, by trial and error and the resulting effects or internet recherche to find out which products are good.

How can stone corals be fed the best possible way? First, a short overview:

SPS:


  • They prefer particle sizes between 20-50 microns (e.g. Acropora). Ideal is a a range between 20-150 microns.
  • Flow is crucial. During the addition of the food it’s important to regulate down the pumps and slowly brin it up within 20-30 minutes. This enables different flow rates.
  • Alternate feeding time at night and during the day, that all species get something.
  • Promote natural zoo and bacterioplankton
  • Enrichment with amino acid is recommended

LPS:

  • Cell sizes between 1500-3000 microns
  • Direct feeding by pipette possible
  • Copecoden, Calanus, Mysis, Artemia, and more
  • Some species, such as Lobophyllia polyps extraction must provided at first (e.g. amino acids and vitamins).

What is being fed:

SPS

  • 1 drop of amino acids / day on 100l
  • 
1 drop Coral Nectar (vitamins and supplements) / day on 100l

Bacterioplankton:

  • 1ml NYOS Zero / 100l daily (carbon source causes a decrease of NO3/PO4 and boost the bacterial population.)



LPS:

  • 2x a week NYOS Goldpods and oyster eggs by using a pipette to feed the LPS directly on their mouth
  • 2x weekly Reef Pepper (particle size min. 20 microns) enriched with daily ration of amino acid & Coral Nectar

Promotion of natural zooplankton

The Reef Pepper supports an extreme boost to my microorganisms and sponges that has a positive effect on the growth of corals.
An offshoot in my sump with a lot of live rock acts as an additional refugium.

How to feed:


The corals are fed in the evening about 1-3 hours before turning off the lights. So “diurnal corals” get their food – but there is still enough food in the water for the corals, that open their polyps at night.
 Different areas of the tank are supplied separately – the outlet shaft in which is a large population of plankton gets its boost with Pepper Reef for some times, and aswell the refugium in the sump.

Smooth laminar flow is also important for the accommodation of the food, and the different requirements towards the flow rate needs to be considered.
I switch on the feed mode at my Vortechs (about 10 minutes) and then turn to a changing flow. Overnight shutdown is also recommended.

Personal observations:

Targeted feeding brings a lot of positive aspects. The color saturation of the corals increases, and they grow visibly faster and build up more compact branches. The individual branches are getting thicker the coral looks vital. A great polyp expansion appears when the corals get used to the regular feeding.
 Amino acids promote especially the bold colors. It is critical not to overdose, otherwise the corals may darken.
The disadvantage that needs to be mentioned of the active feeding is that it affects all residents, including the hated aiptasia. These get the food as well. Animal helpers (filefish, various shrimp) should help to get a long with it. Aiptasia are solely in in my outlet shaft.

Conclusion

The feeding of corals is a good way to improve the colors and vitality of coral fundamentally. It only makes sense, if the water parameters and nutrient values ​​are constant and a good and sufficient light and flow is available. Especially in tanks that are on zero nitrate and phosphate the active feeding is recommendable.

The indirect feeding by an increase of the natural zooplankton should also always be targeted – also due to the fact that we maintain a variety of fish, pick the whole day on the stones. With the products mentioned above, we could provide a constant stability in bold colors and vitality for about a year.

Kindly supported by: www.reefcare.de

3 comments on “How to feed SPS and LPS corals! The Basics!

  1. Hallo,
    klasse Artikel mit vielen Informationen, die ich noch nicht kannte.
    Ich habe eine Frage: Momentan nutze ich lediglich Wodka als Kohlenstoffquelle. Das nyos zero hört sich interessant an, würdet ihr mir das als Wodka-Ersatz empfehlen?
    Reef Pepper nutze ich seit einiger Zeit und kann bestätigen, dass das zooplankton echt abgeht…

    Grüsse
    Thomas W.

  2. So do you spot feed your SPS or do you just dose your aquarium with the 1 drop/100L Aminos and 1 drop/Coral Nectar? I don’t have access to NYOS so I was looking into the below product for my SPS. Just trying to develop a proper feeding schedule to optimize growth and good health for my sps.

    http://reefbuilders.com/2013/05/29/sicce-hyperkoral-sicce-calanus/

    • Hello Don,
      thank you for your comment. Yes, I feed 1 drop / 100l Aminos and 1/ drop coral nectar.
      Once or twice a week I also feed NYOS Reef Pepper, which is 5 -20 mü in size and so best for SPS.
      I don’t know the mentioned product, but one includes Calanus (which should be like NYOS Goldpods) and that ist definitely to big sized for SPS. It is good food for LPS like Acanthastrea, Scolymia and Lobophyllia.

      Let me know if I can help you
      regards
      Sebastian

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Korallen füttern – SPS und LPS Korallenfutter und Grundlagen zur Pflege von Steinkorallen

Die dreiteilige Reihe zum Thema Ernährung zooxantheller LPS und SPS Korallen haben wir aufgrund der vielen Fragen per Mail noch mal zusammengefasst. Wir würden uns freuen, Eure Erfahrung in den Kommentaren zu erfahren! 

Grundlagen der Ernährung von Steinkorallen

Steinkorallen leben mit Ausnahme einiger azooxantheller Tiere in erster Linie vom Sonnenlicht. Dazu implementieren die meist im Flachwasser lebenden Korallen einzellige Symbiosealgen in ihre Struktur, die wiederum Photosynthese betreiben. Den dabei entstehenden Zucker nutzen die Korallen anschließend als Energiequelle.

Nun kommen die Korallen in ihrer natürlichen Umgebung in hauptsächlich sehr nährstoffarmem Wasser vor. Die eingelagerten Symbiosealgen benötigen zum Überleben jedoch auch etwas höhere Nitrat und Phosphatwerte, also grundsätzlich verfügbare Nährstoffe. Also hat sich die im Laufe der Jahrmillionen eine zweite Energiequelle für die Korallenpolypen herausgestellt: Sie können mittels ihrer Fangarme aktiv Beute machen. Das ist meist Mikro- und Zooplankton.

img_1683
Korallenpolypen bei Nacht!

Das müssen sie auch, denn durch niedrige Nährstoffwerte und teilweise in tieferen Bereichen weniger Licht, ist die Koralle nicht in der Lage, die Zooxanthellendichte angemessen hoch zu halten bzw. dadurch genug Energie zu erzeugen. Zudem benötigen Korallen weiterhin Stickstoffverbindungen, Phospho-Lipide, Carotenoide, Vitamine und zahlreiche andere organische Verbindungen, die sie an ihrem natürlichen Standort meist nur durch einen aktiven Planktonfang aufnehmen können, da Zooxanthellen überhaupt nicht in der Lage sind diese Stoffe für die Koralle zu produzieren.

ultra_makro_polyp
Makroaufnahme eines SPS Polypen

Daher nennt man Korallen auch mixotrophe Lebewesen – sie verwenden eine Mischung aus autotropher und heterotropher Ernährung, je nach zur Verfügung gestellter Quelle.

Und wie verhält es sich im Aquarium?
Viele Meerwasser-Aquarianer wissen, dass SPS Korallen bei niedrigen Nährstoffwerten und hoher Beleuchtung eine ganz besondere Farbenpracht zeigen. Das hat damit zu tun, das Korallen bei niedrigen NO3- und PO4 Werten sowie starker Beleuchtung und Strömung eine geringere Zooxanthellendichte besitzen. Zooxanthellen sind braun und werden durch NO3 und PO4 gedüngt – eine hohe Dichte führt zu braunen aussehenden Korallen, eine niedrige Dichte zeigt das in vielen Fällen farbenfrohe Grundskelett, das nicht durch braune Algen überlagert wird.

Durch das künstliche herunterziehen der Nitrat- und Phosphatwerte werden die SPS Korallen farbiger und die plakativen Farben ausgeprägter. Doch so, gerade beim Einsatz starker Adsorber, fehlt den Korallen die notwendige Energiequelle aus den photosyntheseprodukten der Zooxanthellen. Man passt die Nährstoffwerte denen des Meeres an.
Doch: Die Mikrofauna und das Zooplankton zur alternativen Ernährung fehlen in modernen Riffaquarien. Und daher wird eine aktive Fütterung notwendig.

Für ein naturnahes Riff braucht es nämlich:

– Starke Beleuchtung
– Starke, wechselne Strömung
– Niedrige Nährstoffwerte
– Zur Verfügung Stellung von Korallenfutter

Zooplankton und Phytoplankton
Lebendes Phyto- und Zooplankton ist das natürliche Futter der Steinkorallen. Wobei hierbei zu ergänzen ist, dass nur wenige Korallen (wie z.B. Goniopora) Phytoplankton aktiv aufnehmen. Phytoplankton stellt hingegen eine ganz wichtige Nahrungsquelle für Zooplanktonarten dar.
Gerade regelmäßige Zugabe von Phytoplankton bzw. Zooplankton-Nahrung fördert einen Boost des natürlichen Zooplanktons aller Größen, was sich wiederum sehr positiv auf die Ernährung der Steinkorallen auswirken kann.

img_1684

Hier ein Video aus meinem Becken – es finden sich hauptsächlich tropische Mysis aber auch viel weiteres Mikro- und Makroplankton auf und in den Steinen (am besten in HD direkt bei youtube anschauen):

Bakterienplankton und Pseudoplankton:
Eine Stärkung der Bakterienfauna kann unterstützend wirken. Häufig werden dazu Kohlenstoffpräparate oder auch die Wodka-Methode genutzt, um das Bakterienplankton zu steigern. Auf der einen Seite senkt es die Nährstoffwerte leicht ab, auf der anderen Seite werden sich lösende Bakterienteppiche von Steinkorallen aktiv aufgenommen.
Dieser Effekt lässt sich auch beim Einsatz von Zeolith beobachten. Wird das Zeolith mehrmals wöchentlich bewegt, lösen sich die anhaftenden Bakterienbeläge und gelangen ins Becken.
Auch Austerneier werden aufgrund ihrer idealen Größe und Struktur gut von Steinkorallen aufgenommen.

Wie ernähre ich also meine Korallen richtig?
Fakt ist: Es gibt wichtigeres als Korallenfütterung. Strömung, Licht und niedrige Nährstoffwerte stellen quasi die Basis der Pflege farbiger SPS Steinkorallen dar.
Ist man nun soweit, dass die Farben und das Wachstum in Ordnung sind, kann man sich an eine gezielte Fütterung machen. Becken, die natürlicherweise NO3=0 und PO4=0 vorweisen, sollten die Korallen grundsätzlich füttern, da durch die geringe Zooxanthellendichte die Versorgung der Koralle nicht mehr gewährleistet sein kann.

LPS sind wiederum gänzlich anderes zu ernähren. Gerade die beliebten und ultra-farbigen LPS Korallen wie  Acanthastrea, Scolymia australis, Lobophyllia, Euphyllia, Blastomussa und viele mehr sind in der Lage, viel größere Futterpartikel aufzunehmen – sogenanntes Makroplankton. Das geht von verschiedenen Muscheleiern bis hin zu Größen von Artemia, Goldpods (2mm) oder sogar Mysis.

Long polyp SPS

Der Handel bietet eine fast unüberblickbare Menge an Korallenfuttern an, und es ist gerade für weniger erfahrene Aquariener sehr mühsam, durch Ausprobieren und die entstehenden Effekte oder durch Internet-Recherche herauszufinden, welche Produkte empfehlenswert sind.

Wie können Steinkorallen bestmöglichst gefüttert werden? Zunächst eine kleine Übersicht:

SPS:

  • Bevorzugen Partikelgrößen zwischen 20-50 Mikrometer (bspw. Acropora). Ideal ist eine Abdeckung zwischen 20-150 Mikrometer.
  • Strömung ist entscheidend. Bei der Zugabe also bestmöglich die Pumpen herunterregeln und langsam innerhalb von 20-30 Minuten wieder hochregeln. So kommen unterschiedliche Strömungsgeschwindigkeiten vor.
  • Abwechselnd nachts und tagsüber füttern, damit alle Arten etwas abbekommen.
  • Natürliches Zoo- und Bakterienplankton fördern
  • Anreicherung mit Aminosäuren empfehlenswert

LPS:

  • Zellgrößen zwischen 1500-3000 Mikrometer
  • Direkte Fütterung mittels Pipette möglich
  • Copecoden, Calanus, Mysis, Artemianauplien und vieles mehr
  • Bei manchen Arten wie Lobophyllia muss eine Polypenextraktion erst hervorgerufen werden (bspw. Aminosäuren und Vitaminpräparate).

Ein Praxisbeispiel anhand meines 500l Beckens:

Was gefüttert wird:
SPS

  •  1 Tropfen Aminosäuren / 100l täglich
  •  1 Tropfen Coral Nectar / 100l (Vitamine und Zusätze)

Bakterienplankton:

  • 1ml NYOS Zero / 100l täglich (Kohlenstoffquelle, bewirkt Absinken von NO3/PO4 und eine Stärkung der Bakterienpopulation

LPS:

  • 2x wöchentlich NYOS Goldpods und Austerneier mittels Pipette direkt auf die Mundöffnung
  • 2x wöchentlich Reef Pepper (Partikelgröße min. 20 Mikrometer) angereichert mit  Tagesration Aminosäure & Coral Nectar

Förderung des natürlichen Zooplanktons

Das Reef Pepper führte bei mir zu einem extremen Boost an Kleinstlebewesen und Schwämmen, die sich positiv auf das Wachstum der Korallen auswirkt. Ein Ablegerbereich im Technikbecken mit viel Lebendgestein dient als zusätzliches Refugium.

Wie gefüttert wird:
Die Korallen werden bei mir abends ca. 1-3 Stunden vor dem Abschalten der Beleuchtung gefüttert. So bekommen „tagaktive“ Korallen Futter ab – aber auch für Korallen, die die Polypen erst nachts öffnen, ist noch genug Futter in der Wassersäule vorhanden. Verschiedene Beckenbereiche werden einzeln versorgt – der Ablaufschacht, indem sich sehr viel Plankton tummelt, wird ab und an mit Reef Pepper versorgt, genauso das Refugium im Technikbecken.

Sanfte laminare Strömung ist ebenso für die Futteraufnahme wichtig und bei der Fütterung sind unterschiedliche Ansprüche an Strömungsgeschwindigkeiten zu berücksichtigen. Ich schalte dazu die Vortechs in den Futtermodus (ca. 10 Minuten) und stelle danach auf eine wechselnde Strömung (Riffkantenmodus) um. Eine Nachabschaltung empfiehlt sich ebenso.

Eigene Beobachtungen:
Eine gezielte Fütterung bringt sehr viele positive Aspekte mit sich. Die Sättigung der Farben der Korallen nimmt zu, sie wachsen sichtbar schneller und bilden kompaktere Seitentriebe aus. Die einzelnen Äste werden dicker und stabiler und die Koralle wirkt vitaler. Ein tolles Polypenbild stellt sich ein, wenn sich die Korallen an die regelmäßigen Futtergaben gewöhnt haben. Aminosäuren födern vor allem die plakativen Farben. Hier sollte man darauf achten, nicht überzudosieren, da die Korallen sonst zu sehr eindunkeln.

Nachteilig sei zu erwähnen, dass sich aktive Fütterung immer auf alle Bewohner auswirkt, also auch die von uns gehassten Glasrosen. Diese nehmen das Futter selbstverständlich auch auf. Hier ist über ein einmaliges entfernen der Glasrosen und die Anschaffung tierischer Helfer (Feilenfisch, verschiedene Garnelen) ganz leicht Abhilfe zu schaffen. Glasrosen kommen bei mir ausschließlich im Ablaufschacht vor.

Fazit:
Eine Fütterung der Steinkorallen bietet eine gute Möglichkeit, die Farben und die Vitalität der Korallen fundamental zu verbessern. Sie macht allerdings nur Sinn, wenn die Wasserparameter, Nährstoffwerte konstant und gut sind und ausreichend Licht und Strömung zur Verfügung steht. Gerade Korallen in Becken an der Nachweisgrenze von  Nitrat und Phosphat tut eine aktive Fütterung sehr gut.

Die indirekte Fütterung durch eine Vermehrung des natürlichen Zooplanktons sollte ausserdem immer angestrebt werden – schließlich pflegen wir auch diverse Fische, die den ganzen Tag an den Steinen picken. Mit obengenannten Produkten konnten wir über einen Zeitraum von mittlerweile einem Jahr eine kostante Farbstabilität und Vitalität erzielen.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von: www.reefcare.de

3 Kommentare zu “Korallen füttern – SPS und LPS Korallenfutter und Grundlagen zur Pflege von Steinkorallen

  1. Hallo,
    klasse Artikel mit vielen Informationen, die ich noch nicht kannte.
    Ich habe eine Frage: Momentan nutze ich lediglich Wodka als Kohlenstoffquelle. Das nyos zero hört sich interessant an, würdet ihr mir das als Wodka-Ersatz empfehlen?
    Reef Pepper nutze ich seit einiger Zeit und kann bestätigen, dass das zooplankton echt abgeht…

    Grüsse
    Thomas W.

  2. So do you spot feed your SPS or do you just dose your aquarium with the 1 drop/100L Aminos and 1 drop/Coral Nectar? I don’t have access to NYOS so I was looking into the below product for my SPS. Just trying to develop a proper feeding schedule to optimize growth and good health for my sps.

    http://reefbuilders.com/2013/05/29/sicce-hyperkoral-sicce-calanus/

    • Hello Don,
      thank you for your comment. Yes, I feed 1 drop / 100l Aminos and 1/ drop coral nectar.
      Once or twice a week I also feed NYOS Reef Pepper, which is 5 -20 mü in size and so best for SPS.
      I don’t know the mentioned product, but one includes Calanus (which should be like NYOS Goldpods) and that ist definitely to big sized for SPS. It is good food for LPS like Acanthastrea, Scolymia and Lobophyllia.

      Let me know if I can help you
      regards
      Sebastian

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.