EcoTech Vortech QD Quietdrive – first review, test and experience

2 Apr

First: Yes – I’m a huge fan of EcoTech Marine products! Because of that I propably was one of the first who preordered the brandnew EcoTech Marine Vortech Quietdrive Pump. I have 3 EcoTech Radion, 2 Vortech pumps and 1 Reeflink – and the inter-compatible system fits perfect.

Vortech Controller, Wetside und Dryside

Vortech Controller, Wetside und Dryside

During the last years, EcoTech Marine mainly focused on developing LED-lightening and building up a system which is based on ecosmartlive – a powerful platform for controlling all your EcoTech products via App or browser. In the past – around 10 years ago – EcoTech hits the market with the first Generation of Vortech pumps. Placing the driver outside the tank was very innovative at this time. Next were the Radion LEDs and the Reeflink – a small unit which makes it possible to control all EcoTech-devices via a Web-Interface or iPhone/Android App. First there were not that many possibilities to control them – but today, ecosmartlive is a powerful tool to setup detailed schedules for the lamps and pumps. And – like Apple – very intuitive!

Now, I received the brandnew EcoTech Vortech Quietdrive promising to be 90% quieter and 40% stronger. Loudness was sometimes a problem with the older models and because of the outside placed power unit, you could recognize a bit of noise when running with more than 60% power or in wave mode. It wasn’t a problem for me because with 2x mp40 it was enough flow in my tank running them at 60% max.

So let’s have a closer look at the new EcoTech Vortech mp40wQD Quietdrive:

Haptics and supply

There’s no difference in scope of supply to the older Vortech mp40w – it contains the Dry-Side and the Wet-Side. Besides there’s the Controller which has – again “Apple-styled” – only one Led-lighted knob.

The external driver has the advantage that no heat is released into the water and you have no electric device inside your tank.

The pumps are available in three different sizes – the Vortech mp10w, Vortech mp10 (without wireless), Vortech mp40w and the big Vortech mp60w. One has to mention that mp10 and mp60 don’t have a new driver – they only have the new controller. But the mp40wQD has a brandnew designed driver. All new pumps promise to be up to 90% more quiet. It is the result of deep research, how the driver is energized by the controller which EcoTech has improved massively. Because of that, all new models – if they have a new driver or not – benefit from the controller update! Also the mp40 model shall have 40% more flow (Therefor: Quieter and more power = more efficency!)

Left the old Vortech, right the new Vortech

Comparing the Vortech mp40qd Quietdrive and the Vortech mp40w:

The new pump has a new and fresh Design:

Loudness and performance of the mp40w QD:

Let me compare both models. Unfortunately I don’t have the possibilities to absolutely mesure the sound levels – which is not a big problem because loudness is difficult to compare having that non-linear characteristic.

I placed both pumps – the old one and the new – beside each other and switched them on at 50% – there was no real difference in loudness. But I immediately recognized that the new mp40QD is much more stronger in performance than the old pump. After some playing around I am sure that the new pump has at least the specified 40% increase of performance – rather something more. Looking at the tornado in my tank I have to say that the new mp40QD has whirled up my tank drastically (and I had both old pumps sometimes running at 100% without getting that much flow!) I also have the impression – although not officially confirmed – that the QD features an optimized propeller, because the flow looks a bit wider and more indirect.

My first impression: Extreme increase of performance – but mp40wQD is not complete silent on the first day! Writing this article some days later I can say: It changes dramatically – the pump is really quiet ! I will write a detailed sound-comparison follow up about that.

Programming the EcoTech Vortech Pumps:

I use EcosmartLive for programming the pumps You can either download the connection manager and program them via USB and a laptop. Or – like I do – have the small and practical EcoTech Reeflink, which connects all EcoTech products wireless.

After adding the pumps to your tank layout (note: sometimes it is necessary to reset the pumps first) you can start setting up the Vortech schedule. Nowadays it is possible to realise a detailed schedule.

I use the Lagoon Mode by night at 50%-60%, starting the day at 08:00 a.m. with 70% Reefcrest in Anti-Synch, have a 3-hours NTM-Mode (Nutrient Transport Mode at late mid and Wave Mode (Short Pulse) ending the day with Lagoon Mode.

Vortech_Schedule

Download my Vortech schedule here! 

Experience with the Vortech Pumps – Pro’s and Con’s: 

Pro’s:

  • Extremely quiet pump
  • Extremly strong pump
  • Excellent and easy possibilites of programming
  • Modern Design
  • Wide flow
  • Inter-compatible with other EcoTech products

Con’s:

  • Price is high – if you only need flow, it’s cheaper to get
  • You can’t hide it in your reef

Upgrading old Vortech controller

The highlight of the new pump is that you can upgrade your old MP10W, MP40W or MP60W pump-controller and make them quiet! You won’t profit from the increase in performance, but the pump will run quieter. The controller will be available during April and will cost a little more than 100 €.

Recommendation

The new pumps have greatly benefited from the modifications. The manufacturer keeps his promise of a quiet and powerful pump! EcoTech products were indeed always located in the upper price segment – but it also offers refined technology and best flow for reef tanks. It is not a cheap Chinese pump – it’s the Mercedes of flow – the state-of-the-art pump for saltwater tanks!

Do you have questions? Feel free to comment below!

13 Responses to “EcoTech Vortech QD Quietdrive – first review, test and experience”

  1. Niko Friday, 3. April 2015 at %I:%M %p #

    Super Bericht, danke dafür Sebastian! Wäre es Deiner Meinung nach möglich auch nur mit einer MP40 ein 550l Becken zu betreiben? Du schreibst ja, dass die neuen Pumpen deutlich mehr Leistung haben.

    • Sebastian Monday, 20. April 2015 at %I:%M %p #

      Also bei 550l brauchst Du schon 2 Pumpen – aber nicht unbedingt 2x Vortech. Du kannst bspw. auch eine Ecotech Vortech nehmen und dann noch eine ganz normale Tunze Strömunspumpe. Das funktioniert gut (Chris Reef hat bspw. nur eine Vortech und eine Tunze), aber Du hast nicht den kompletten Umfang an Funktion wie bspw. Anti-Synch (eine Pumpe verhält sich gegenteilig zur Master-Pumpe).

      Grüße
      Sebastian

  2. Lucas Friday, 3. April 2015 at %I:%M %p #

    Könntest du mir einne Grund sagen wieso ich von meinen Tunze Pumpen auf eine Ecotech Pumpe wechseln sollte? Dazu steht bei mir vieleicht auch bald ein Lampenwechsel an , wieso hast du dich gegen die T5 Lampe von ATI entschieden? Wieso Led? Ich habe momentan eigentlich die Sirius X6 oder die Hybrid im Auge. Mein Becken hat die Maße 120x60x60.
    lg Lucas

    • Sebastian Monday, 20. April 2015 at %I:%M %p #

      Mhm… ich finde, die Ecotech Vortechs sind einfach super steuerbar. Zudem geben sie keine Wärme ab.
      Wenn man “nur” Strömung will sind Tunze sicher super – wenn man eine moderne Pumpe mit super Einstellbaren Strömungsmodi, Tablet-App und so weiter möchte ist man bei den Ecotech besser aufgehoben. Ist aber auch eine Preisfrage.
      Die ATI sunpower ist eine sensationelle Lampe, die ich vor allem Einsteigern immer empfehle. Wer geringeren Stromverbrauch und unendliche Einstellmöglichkeiten bzgl. der Lichtfarbe möchte, sollte zu LED greifen. Siehe auch: http://ilovereefing.de/gunstiger-nach-3-jahren-led-vs-t5-beleuchtung-im-praxistest/

      Viele Grüße
      Sebastian

  3. Immo Friday, 10. April 2015 at %I:%M %p #

    Hi,

    habe 2 MP10wQd. Eine war “out of the box” mega, mega leise. Also leiser, als alles was ich bisher zum Vergleich hatte (Tunze, Jebao, alte Mp10). Aber die andere hatte keinen echten “sweet spot”. Zunächst dachte ich, es liegt an der Wetside. Das habe ich dadurch falsifiziert, dass ich DREI andere durchprobiert habe. Aber diese waren sogar eher noch schlimmer. Es wird eine Art Vibration erzeugt, welche vom Geräusch entfernt an einen Lüfter unter Volllast erinnert. Dann habe ich noch eine weitere Qd Motoreinheit durchprobiert (ebenfalls mit den drei Wetsides). Aber die war im Vergleich eher noch schlechter. Nun stellt sich für mich folgende Frage:

    1. Hatte ich mit meiner Ersten nur Glück oder…

    2. Ist die Serienstreuung derart gross – das fände ich in diesem Preissegment nicht akzeptabel oder…

    3. braucht Sie mindestens 7-10 Tage um sich “einzulaufen”.

    Aber warum war dann meine erste von Anfang an so gut ? Und diese hat eigentlich nur einen “sweet spot”. Es gibt fast keine Optimierung, da Sie fast in jeder Lage sehr leise läuft.

    Wie war das bei Deinen Qd’s ?

    LG

    Immo

    • Sebastian Monday, 20. April 2015 at %I:%M %p #

      Hi Immo,
      ich habe eine QD und eine alte mp40w. Beim ersten Einschalten waren sie gleich “laut”, wobei dich das Geräusch deutlich unterschied. Die mp40w hat ja das bekannte etwas höhere Surren, die Quietdrive eher im tieferen Bereich. Nach 2-3 Tagen ist die Quietdrive richtig leise geworden. Jede Pumpe muss ja einlaufen. Da du den direkten Vergleich hast würde ich mit der lauteren doch mal ein paar Tage warten, denn der Motor muss tatsächlich etwas einlaufen. Wenn sich nach 1-2 Wochen keine Besserung einstellt würde ich sie tauschen, denn das ist dann nicht normal!

      Viel Spaß und halte mich mal auf dem laufenden,

      Sebastian

  4. Markus Tuesday, 21. April 2015 at %I:%M %p #

    Vielen Dank für den tollen Bericht, hast mich überzeugt und 2x Quietdrive sind bestellt!

  5. Daniel Saturday, 25. April 2015 at %I:%M %p #

    Hallo,

    bist du sicher, dass man die Pumpe über USB verbinden kann? Dann wäre ja ein Reeflink nicht erforderlich, wenn ich einen Computer neben dem Aquarium habe.

    Vielen Dank für die Auskunft.

    VG

    Daniel

    • Sebastian Friday, 8. May 2015 at %I:%M %p #

      Hallo Daniel,
      das ist richtig – die Pumpen können nur über Reef Link programmiert werden.
      Danke für den Hinweis!

      Viele Grüße
      Sebastian

  6. Alain Thursday, 7. May 2015 at %I:%M %p #

    Hallo,

    Du schreibst “Ich nehme schon mal vorweg: Das ändert sich noch – sie wird richtig leise! Dazu werde ich noch einen ausführlichen Lautstärkevergleich nachliefern.”.

    Wann wird der denn nachgeliefert, wie sind die Erfahrungen nach einem Monat. Hast Du auch mit der alten Pumpe und den Upgrades experimentiert? Was bringt hier wieviel in Sachen Lautstärke und Leistung?

    Danke und Gruß,

    • Sebastian Friday, 8. May 2015 at %I:%M %p #

      Hi Alain,
      ja – der steht noch aus.
      Ich habe aktuell auf der rechten Seite die Quietdrive, auf der linken Seite die alte mp40w.
      Die Quietdrive ist für mein Ohr aus ca. 40cm Entfernung nicht mehr hörbar, während die alte Pumpe vor sich hin schnurrt. Meine Erfahrungen nach 1 Monat sind sehr positiv.

      Leider ist der Controller aktuell nicht lieferbar. Sobald ich diesen habe werde ich die alte mp40w mit dem neuen Controller bestücken und einen Lautstärkevergleich zwischen mp40w, mp40wQD und mp40w mit neuem Controller hier posten.

      Grüße
      Sebastian

  7. uwe Monday, 22. August 2016 at %I:%M %p #

    Hi

    bei aller Euphorie aber: die Hardware ist super die Software ist einfach nur SCHEISSE !!!!!

    Ich habe SEHR schlechte Erfahrung mit dem programmieren der Produkte gemacht. Der Kunden Service interessiert sich n scheiss um dich wenn man ihnen schreibt.
    Es werden mehrmals im Jahr irgend welche Updates gemacht was zur Folge hat das dein Programm Ablauf den man in STUNDEN von unendlicher Geduld mit der unglaublich dämlichen Software erstellt hat einfach mal vollkommen kaputt gemacht wird und da rede ich nicht von Kleinigkeiten NEIN da geht mitten in der Nacht mal das Licht für n paar stunden auf 100% .

    Das hinzufügen von neuer Hardware pumpe oder Licht ist JEDES mal ein Alptraum. Warum? 1.Reflink erkennt es aber lässt dich nicht updaten.2.erkennt es aber lässt dich nicht programmieren
    3.man integriert es in das Layout und schon beim nächsten klick ist es wieder raus aus dem Becken und ! wegg. ich könnte endlos weiter machen.

    Die Rettung der Idioten ist jedes mal nur die unglaublich geniale Hardware. Denn hat man es dann nach ca 5-7 h geschafft diese zu Programmieren ist deren Leistung SUPER.

    Ich habe einen Refflink, 4 Radion XR30 und 2 MP40wQD.

Leave a Reply

*